Countdown to the 29th Pfizer / ASA / UConn Distinguished Statistician Colloquium at UConn on October 25th!

The 29th Pfizer/ASA/UConn Distinguished Statistician Colloquium

October 25, 2023 at the UConn Student Union, Room 304

Storrs, CT 06269

2:30 PM ET Registration and Light Refreshments

3:00 PM ET Lecture

4:00 PM ET Interview

5:30 – 8:00 PM ET – Banquet, The Alumni Center

The Department of Statistics at the University of Connecticut is honored to announce the 29th Distinguished Statistician Colloquium.

The Pfizer colloquium series ran from 1978 until 2012 and was renewed in 2018. The colloquium series featured C. R. Rao, Bradley Efron, D.R. Cox, Nan Laird, Grace Wahba and many more.

For a complete list, see


The purpose of the Colloquium is to provide a forum for distinguished statisticians to share and disseminate their unique perspective and work in the theory and/or application of statistics.

Starting from 2018, the series has been co-sponsored by Pfizer, the American Statistical Association (ASA), and the Department of Statistics at the University of Connecticut.

This year’s speaker will be James Berger, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Statistics at Duke University.

Professor Berger will give a presentation entitled, “Frequentist and/or Bayesian adjustment for multiple testing,” under the auspices of the Pfizer Colloquia by Distinguished Statisticians in Honor of Dr. David S. Salsburg.

Following the lecture will be the Conversation with Distinguished Statisticians in Memory of Professor Harry O.  Posten.

This discussion with Professor Berger will be led by the following faculty members of the Department of Statistics at the University of Connecticut:

Dipak Dey, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor; Ming-Hui Chen, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor; and Xiaojing Wang, Associate Professor.

Visit our event website for detailed directions and to register:


If you have questions, please contact .

We thank Pfizer and the ASA for their generous financial support. We also thank the members of the selection committee –

Dan Meyer and Demissie Alemayehu from Pfizer, Ron Wasserstein and Nancy Flournoy from the ASA, and Dipak Dey (Chair), Joseph Glaz and Ming-Hui Chen from the University of Connecticut.

Professor Chen also represents the New England Statistical Society (NESS).